May 2, 2020 General Election

The next General Election will be on Saturday, May 2, 2020, at La Porte City Hall, located at 604 West Fairmont Parkway. Filing for a place on the ballot is set by state statute and will run from January 15-February 14, 2020. Find additional election-related dates and information at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/candidates/guide/2020/index.shtml (posted in accordance with Tx. Legis. H.B. 305, effective September 1, 2019).

Filing requirements are per state statute, available at https://www.sos.state.tx.us/elections/candidates/guide/2020/index.shtml, and those of the City of La Porte Charter, Article II, at LaPorteTX.gov/Charter. (Charter Qualifications - the mayor and councilpersons shall have been a qualified voter of the City for twelve months immediately preceding election day, and continuously during the term of office. A district councilperson shall also be a resident of his or her district for twelve months immediately preceding election day, and continuously during the term of office. Positions for election in 2020 are  At-Large B Councilperson, Councilperson-District 1, and Councilperson-District 6.

Click here for the Notice of Deadline to File an Application For a Place on the Ballot for the May 2, 2020 General Election.

Click here for the May 2, 2020, CoLP Candidate Packet.

May 4, 2019 General Election Unofficial Results


Click here for unofficial cumulative report totals for all races.
Click here for cumulative by precinct unofficial totals for all races.

Voter ID Information  

Voter Identification Changes

Click here for an interactive Council District map

Click here for the City Election Register

General Elections

The General Election for members of City Council is held annually on the 1st Saturday in May.
Order of Election 2019 | Orden de Elección Ordinance Ordering General Election
Notice of Election | Aviso de Elección Notice of Election

May 4, 2019 General election SAMPLE BALLOTS, all districts
 - Per the Texas Election Code, sample ballots may only be printed on yellow paper. These scanned sample ballots are suitable for color printers. If you choose to print them in black and white, you must use yellow paper. Only yellow sample ballots will be permitted to be brought into a City polling location. Sample ballots are posted in the City Hall lobby adjacent to the City Council chamber and copies are available from the City Secretary's Office at City Hall (604 West Fairmont Parkway).

To register to vote, find upcoming election dates, and answers to Frequently Asked
Questions, please visit the Texas Secretary of State's special voter page, VoteTexas.gov.
 For additional general information, please visit the Secretary of State's website. Also informative is the League of Women Voters page.

En Español

Para registrarse para votar, encuentre las fechas de eleccion proximas, y respuestas a preguntas hechas con frecuencia, por favor visite la pagina de votante especial del Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores de Texas en VoteTexas.gov. Para informacion general adicional de la oficina del Ministro de Asuntos Exteriores, por favor visite www.sos.state.tx.us.

Notice of Test of Automatic Tabulating Equipment |
Aviso Publico de Probar el Equipo para Tabular Automaticamente

Notice of Good Friday hours for In-Person Application for Ballot by Mail

Notice of Delivery of Materials to the Early Voting Ballot Board

Press release from 2019 ballot order drawing:

La Porte voters will find one or two of three City Council position races on the May 4, 2019, general election ballot. Voters in La Porte Council Districts 1, 2, 3, or 6 will be able to vote for the City Council At Large A race.  Voters in La Porte Council Districts 4 and 5 will be able to vote for the City Council At Large A race and their respective City Council District race. The drawing for ballot order was held Monday morning, February 18, with the results as follows:

At Large A – Councilmember John Zemanek listed first, followed by candidate Brandon Lunsford 

District 4 – Candidate Thomas Garza listed first, followed by candidate Marc Clarke (Councilmember Kristin Martin did not file to run)

District 5 – Councilmember Jay Martin listed first, followed by candidate Chuck Rosa

Filing for the election ran from January 16-February 15, for each of the positions listed above, each for a complete three-year term. To qualify, a candidate for mayor or a council seat shall have been a qualified voter of the City for twelve months immediately preceding election day, and continuously during the term of office. A district councilperson shall also have been a resident of his or her district for twelve months immediately preceding election day, and continuously during the term of office.

Early voting will begin Monday, April 22, and run weekdays until Tuesday, April 30, from 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Extended voting from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. will be conducted on Wednesday, April 24, and Tuesday, April 30. Election day voting on Saturday, May 4, will be from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. All voting will be conducted at two locations, City Hall (604 West Fairmont Parkway as the main early voting location) and the La Porte ISD Instructional Technology Center (ITC Building, 9832 Spencer Highway, as a branch early voting location). La Porte registered voters may vote at either location during early voting. On election day, May 4, voters registered in La Porte Council Districts/La Porte election precincts 1, 2, 3, and 6 will vote only at the ITC Building (and only for the At Large A position, as noted above), and those in La Porte Council Districts/La Porte election precincts 4 and 5 will vote only at City Hall (for the At Large A race and their respective District race, as noted above).

The state of Texas provides that certain voters may apply to vote by mail. The Secretary of State’s form to apply for a ballot by mail is available at https://webservices.sos.state.tx.us/forms/5-15f.pdf or is available upon request by mail to the City Secretary, 604 West Fairmont Parkway, La Porte, TX 77571; by fax to 281- 842-3701; or via email to CSOStaff@LaPorteTX.gov. Those interested may also contact the office of the City Secretary at 281-470-5019 for more information. Voters are not required to use the state application. Any application received that is not on the state’s form is considered an "informal application" and may be accepted if it contains all the following information:  1. Name and residence address of registration of applicant. 2. Address to which ballot is to be mailed. 3. Indication of each election for which the voter is applying. 4. The ground of eligibility for voting by mail. 5. If the ground is absence from the county, an indication that the voter satisfies that ground (provides a mailing address outside the county of residence). 6. The signature of the applicant. Applications are due by April 19, 2019, as early voting begins on Monday, April 22, 2019. The La Porte City Secretary’s office will be open on Friday, April 19, from 8 a.m.-11 a.m. (the City as an entity is closed that day for Good Friday, so no other business can be conducted at City Hall that day, but the Secretary of State’s office has indicated that this is not a state holiday and a three-hour period should be offered, at a minimum, to accept in-person applications for a ballot by mail).

Elections in the City of La Porte are conducted in accordance with the Texas Election Code and the City Charter. For more information, contact the City Secretary’s Office at 281-470-5019 or by email at CitySecretary@LaPorteTX.gov, or visit the City’s election page at LaPorteTX.gov/Elections or LaPorteTX.gov/Elecciones.